Community Closet

About Our Community Closet

Palatine Assisting Through Hope (PATH) and the Northwest Suburban Council (NWSC) of PTA/PTSA are partnering with District 15 to provide all D15 students and their families with opportunities to be properly clothed no matter the season through the Community Closet.

The Community Closet is open one evening and one afternoon each month at Gray M. Sanborn School, 101 N. Oak Street, Palatine.For more information, contact any District 15 school or social worker, or contact your school’s PTA Health and Safety chair.

The Community Closet operates like a thrift store, with clothes available in sizes from infant through adult but the Community Closet items are free to our District 15 families in need of assistance.

Districts 15 families in need of free, gently used clothing can now be signed up by a teacher, social worker, or any certified staff member for an appointment to shop the Community Closet. Families can visit the Community Closet twice a year, but can only receive winter coats and new socks and underwear on one visit. (New socks and underwear are only available for children)

Donations and Volunteers Needed!
Donations to the Community Closet can be dropped off in donation boxes located in the main entrances at all District 15 schools. Receipt forms are available at each donation location. In addition to gently used clothing, donations of new pairs of socks and underwear in all sizes and styles are always needed, especially in the late fall and winter months when more families are accessing the Community Closet.

Each District 15 school should provide 2-3 adult volunteers this evening a year (see below).
Donations are always welcome and each District 15 school has a bin located generally in the front of the school for any/all donations.

For more information, contact any District 15 school or your school’s PTA Health and Safety chair.


2016-2017 Community Closet Schedule

Date Time School
Monday, September 12, 2016 5:45pm – 8:15pm Jane Addams
Tuesday, September 20, 2016 5:45pm – 8:15pm Sundling Jr. High
Wednesday, September 28, 2016 5:45pm – 8:15pm Sanborn
Thursday, October 6, 2016 5:45pm – 8:15pm Hunting Ridge
Monday, October 17, 2016 5:45pm – 8:15pm Kimball Hill
Tuesday, October 25, 2016 12:15pm – 2:15pm Central Road
Tuesday, December 6, 2016 12:15pm – 2:15pm Whiteley
Wednesday, December 14, 2016 5:45pm – 8:15pm Pleasant Hill
Wednesday, December 21, 2016 12:15pm – 2:15pm Lincoln
Thursday, January 12, 2017 5:45pm – 8:15pm Thomas Jefferson
Tuesday, January 24, 2017 5:45pm – 8:15pm Winston Jr. High
Thursday, February 2, 2017 12:15pm – 2:15pm Marion Jordan
Monday, February 6, 2017 5:45pm – 8:15pm Virginia Lake
Wednesday, February 15, 2017 5:45pm – 8:15pm Sanburg Jr. High
Thursday, March 2, 2017 12:15pm – 2:15pm Paddock
Tuesday, March 14, 2017 5:45pm – 8:15pm Plum Grove Jr. High
Wednesday, April 12, 2017 5:45pm – 8:15pm Willow Bend
Thursday, April 27, 2017 12:15pm – 2:15pm Lake Louise
Wednesday, May 10, 2017 5:45pm – 8:15pm Winston Campus Elementary